JD 40C Is it Worth The Effort?

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
safetyjoe
MC crawler
MC crawler

JD 40C Is it Worth The Effort?

Post by safetyjoe » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:19 am

I'm a newbie on the board, but I am familiar with old iron. I picked up a John Deere 40C for scrap price, and I got most of a parts tractor to go with it that is already is in pieces. Neither have run for about five years and they have been sitting outside. We pushed it up the trailer ramps with a Bobcat skidsteer and the tracks were rolling. I haven't started any disassembly yet and after a lot of reading in your archives, I'm not so sure I want to. I have this question for the group and your answers will help me decide what to do.
Since it will roll, it seems to me that the steering clutches must be free and useable? The levers are rusted tight, same with the foot clutch, the PTO lever, and the transmission shift lever. The tracks are fair, the engine is siezed, the undercarriage looks rough, but some of the rollers were turning. I have the parts tractor so I'm debating whether to commit shop space to a project that may be a waste of my time and effort. I kind of look forward to the challenge, but don't want to sink a lot more cash into it than it would be worth. What are your thoughts?
Safety Joe
Sunny South Carolina - Gamecock Country

Stan Disbrow
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Stan Disbrow » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:53 pm

Hi,

It will roll just fine with the clutches froze solid in neutral. They just won't turn separate from each other. They roll even better if the clutches are toast. Then the drag from the ring and pinion gears is gone. Plus, the tracks will then move differently from each other (not being locked together by the output shafts from the ring gear spool).

As far as worth how much effort, that is quite difficult to say. Esp, from a distance....

Stan
There's No Such Thing As A Cheap Crawler!