1010 injection pump

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
nails
40C crawler
40C crawler

1010 injection pump

Post by nails » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:20 am

I have a Roosa-Master DBG VC429-3AJ fuel injection pump that isn't working after sitting for a few years. It had fuel in it. My tractor doesn't have any other fuel pump, just gravity feed to the IP.

According to the parts manual, this isn't the stock IP.

I have good air-free flow to the inlet but don't get anything out the banjo bolts. The return line seems unrestricted. The governor gets fuel, but not much with cranking. (I've heard of J-wire issue -- maybe something's partially plugged here?) The fuel tank is pretty full, so fuel runs out the return line to the governor when I open the valve and a bleed screw near the throttle lever.

While cranking, I get fuel dribbles out another apparent bleed screw, also near the throttle lever but to the pump body. I cranked until the tiny bubbles mostly quit.

With the actual fuel line open, I also get dribbles out the "outlet" (top of pump) by gravity and splashes fuel when I crank it.

I've heard of a "pellathane-plastic dampener retainer ring" disintegrating over time, but don't have a clue how to check. I don't see anything with this name in the parts list.

Do I need to continue homage to the purge gods, or is it time to pull and disassemble it?

whiteclipse16
2010 crawler
2010 crawler

Post by whiteclipse16 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:42 am

From my experience so far with our 1010 diesel, they are an absolute pain to bleed the air out. The only way we were able to get the air out was, someone put a rag around the fill neck on the fuel tank and blew into it. This applied a slight pressure to the fuel system. While he blew into the tank I cranked the motor with the starter. It started pumping fuel pretty quickly when we did this. Prior to that it wouldn't seem to bleed the air out of the pump itself.