Detroit Diesel two stroke oil

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Detroit Diesel two stroke oil

Post by Lavoy » Thu Jun 23, 2016 8:32 pm

I know this has been discussed at length, but below is a link explaining why you run ONLY a straight weight low ash oil in a two stroke Detroit. I had lost this info for a while, just found it again.
Lavoy

http://www.tejascoach.com/ddcoil.html
Parts and restoration for antique and late model John Deere crawlers.
Owner and moderator www.jdcrawlers.com

CuttingEdge
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Re: Detroit Diesel two stroke oil

Post by CuttingEdge » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:24 pm

Hey thanks for the information! My skidder has a 471 Detroit (2 stroke) and I put whatever engine oil is on sale in the thing. Part of that is that it is a Detroit, and while I like those engines (I am an old railroader/tugboat engineer which used Detroit's almost exclusively), there is no changing the oil in them, I do that every day with a fresh quart of oil! These things leak oil!

I do have a question though, when is oil pressure too high? My 350D bulldozer always had 60 PSI engine oil pressure, but after changing the oil, I am running 80 PSI for oil pressure. It still shows it is in the green, but I have never seen an engine run this much PSI.
I have no intention of traveling to my grave in a well manicured body; instead I am going to slide into heaven with a big power turn, totally wore out with busted knuckles, jump off my dozer loudly yelling, Woo Hoo, another Shepard has just arrived!

JWB Contracting
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by JWB Contracting » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:31 pm

I'm thinking you have a 453 in that Clark skidder, you might want to check. 53 series is smaller bore but higher rpms than the 71.
Jason Benesch

John Deere 350C Crawler Dozer with 3pt Hitch
John Deere 2010 Crawler Dozer with Winch
John Deere 430U Tractor (2)
John Deere 435 Tractor
Oliver 1900 Tractor

Lavoy