420c Reverser quesitons

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
gschrader
40C crawler
40C crawler

420c Reverser quesitons

Post by gschrader » Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:55 am

Good morning,
I am new to the crawler world and made my first purchase a few weeks ago. I purchased 1958 420 from the original owner and found just 8 miles from my home! It sat in a barn for many years, but was started every spring to keep it freed up and was taken very good care of. It runs very well as was in need of the regular maintenance type work and the undercarriage appears to have life left in it. I bought for light use around my farm light grading and brush work.
The issue is the reverser works in forward and not in reverse and the owner told me that when I bought it. It works fine in all forward gears and reverse with no noise. The reverser does lock in reverse but nothing happens when you let the clutch out. I checked the oil in the reverser unit and it appeared to be low. So I fill 3/4 of an inch from the bottom of the hole as instructed (about 2 quarts) closed it back up and ran it a bit. There was a significant leak from the end of the shaft around the o rings that into the housing and need to be replaced. Can this be done by removing the side cover and is there any tricks to getting the shaft out and getting these o rings pit back in place? Also, will I damage the reverser any more by just running it in forward? I am waiting on my service manual to come and wanted to get a jump on this. Thanks for your help!
Gordon

Stan Disbrow
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Stan Disbrow » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:07 am

Hi,

58 ought to be the differential style reverser. They are not covered in the 420 service manual. You need the manual for the 440 gas for that.

You can run with the reverser in forward and use the trans to back up. Other than the adjustments, you have to pull the reverser to perform any work on it. That means yanking the engine first.

Stan