HLR slips

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
hub1987
MC crawler
MC crawler

HLR slips

Post by hub1987 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:14 am

Hey guys, I have a lot of mechanical experience on tractors, cars and dirt bikes, but crawlers are new for me. I understand how hydraulics and clutches normally work, but this HLR transmission has me confused. I have a 2010 diesel with the serial number 35042. I believe it sat for a while as I had to do some work to get it running correctly and adjust the steering clutches. The hyd were really slow and the oil was milky so I changed it, and cleaned the screen filter. The trans filter was missing, so I bought a new one and added new oil. Hyd work fine now. I took the main clutch cover off and it was packed full of mouse nest, so as you can imagine, the main clutch does not disconnect when I pull up on the lever. I would like to know where they got in there from? My problem is, after all of this I took it out back to push dirt around. at first the foot clutch didn't seem to do anything(or at least I didn't think it did). On my way out back, I noticed it wouldn't go up a small hill in reverse, or a 3rd gear. After a few minutes I found that when it won't move, If push in the foot clutch and it takes off and bogs the engine like I was trying to pull a wheely. I let the clutch out and it continues moving until I pull a lever to steer, then it slows again. Push in the foot clutch, and we are outta here. I am sure it isn't working correct, but I can't figure out why pushing the clutch in makes it take off? Any thoughts or things to check? Also, they hyd starting acting slow after about 1/2 hour, so I am going to clean the filter again this weekend. Do I need to drain the oil to get to the filters? thanks, Dan

original possum
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Re: HLR slips

Post by original possum » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:29 pm

Is it engaging while the clutch is pushed in or as you let it out after pushing it in?