420c 5 roller undercarriage specifications

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Agmcj7
MC crawler
MC crawler

420c 5 roller undercarriage specifications

Post by Agmcj7 » Thu May 23, 2019 10:54 am

First off I should say that I’m new to the crawler world but excited to be part of the club. I recently purchased a 420c 5 roller and am now going over the undercarriage. The three center bottom rollers on the left track are wore through, the flanges are breaking off... yup shot. The two on each end are in good shape to my eye, a little bit of play maybe 16th to 8th of an inch. I’ve been trying to read up on this forum online and my manuals to find the specs and measurements on these tracks chains, sprockets, rollers, pins and I haven’t had any luck. I guess I’ve done enough research to know that advice is gonna be my best friend and am looking for guidance on what I need to know to get this old girl back up putting around.
Ashton Messner- Reinholds, Pa. JD 420c Loader 5 roller/440IC Dozer 64

notmeu
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Re: 420c 5 roller undercarriage specifications

Post by notmeu » Thu May 23, 2019 6:56 pm

I use to sell undercarriage wear gauges for the 420 but I am all sold out. Regardless it sounds like you will need new rollers. The only option is to buy new 350 rollers or find some used ones off of a 420,430,1010 or 2010.
1956 JD420, gearmatic 8a winch, custom 6 way blade and FOPS.

Stan Disbrow
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Stan Disbrow » Fri May 24, 2019 4:41 am

Hi,

Yes, the 420 u/c bits are pretty much all gone. The thing to do now is use JD350 as replacement. Note that it has a longer pitch. So, if you wind up needing to use 350 rails, you cut the teeth off the 420 sprocket and weld on a 350 ring sprocket.