Starting my 44o0

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Doc in Vermont
40C crawler
40C crawler

Starting my 44o0

Post by Doc in Vermont » Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:20 am

I can't get my 440 started. I have a new, fully charged battery, which cranks the engine only slowly. I used a shot of starting fluid. I noticed that the positive and negative cables heated up, and there were sparks at the negative terminal.

It has a fairly new generator connected per the manual. The Deere dealer explained how to polarize it, but I may not have done it right. I'm not a diesel mechanic.

Can anyone offer some ideas on what I may be doing wrong?

Doc

mapleshade
MC crawler
MC crawler

Post by mapleshade » Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:02 am

Hi Doc
I am definitely not a diesel mechanic but I have a couple of ideas. When you say the cables heat up I would suspect a poor connection someplace. Make sure your ground is good. Sometimes a little paint at the battery cable ground on the engine, or between the starter and the block can cause problems. Hook a booster cable or other heavy wire from the battery ground right to the starter and try it. That eliminates any vehicle poor grounds. Also make sure the battery cable ends are good. Sometimes the green crud goes up under the cable insulation and causes resistance. Resistance is heat.
Cheers,
Barry

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:49 am

Is it gas or diesel? Did you buy a battery with enough cold cranking amps? Did you reuse the old cables and ends, or replace them?
Lavoy

jac
440 crawler
440 crawler

Post by jac » Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:50 am