Differences between 2010 and 350/450 crawlers?

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
reb
40C crawler
40C crawler

Differences between 2010 and 350/450 crawlers?

Post by reb » Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:23 am

Hello,
I am a farmer in Nebraska and I need to do some small tree removal in my CRP. I havent run or been around any crawler loader tractors before. Im trying to decide if I should pursue a 350 or a 2010. These are the crawler loaders that seem to be in my price range. I would like to know what is different (updated)about the 350 (pre wet clutch) machines. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks, Ross/Nebraska

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:51 pm

350 is smaller and lighter than a 2010 with less power, however parts will be more readily available for a 350.
Lavoy

reb
40C crawler
40C crawler

Post by reb » Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:00 pm

Is the 2010 more prone to breakage than the 350/450? Are there any trouble areas (besides clutches, UC) that I should watch for on a 2010? I am leaning towards a 2010.
Thanks for the forum.
Ross

wwattson
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by wwattson » Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:06 pm

I think a 350 would be a better choice. You're going to find the 2010 parts issues to be a real problem if you use it on a regular basis and have to support it.
Bill Wattson

Tigerhaze
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Tigerhaze » Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:40 pm

I posted in the "Late Model" section; I own a 2010 and can tell you that parts availability (and price if you can find them) is going to be more of a problem with the 2010. I have already experienced some shocks when it comes to this.
(1) JD Straight 450 crawler dozer with manual outside blade; (2) JD 2010 diesel crawler loaders; (1) JD 2010 diesel dozer with hydraulic 6-way blade; (2) Model 50 backhoe attachments, misc. other construction equipment

reb
40C crawler
40C crawler

Post by reb » Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:08 pm