440ICD engine rebuild

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
BKahler
440 crawler
440 crawler

440ICD engine rebuild

Post by BKahler » Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:32 pm

Been a while since I've posted although I read the forums every morning.

I finally got my parts to the machine shop and back again for the detroit diesel engine.

About a year earlier I had dropped the parts off at a friends place to have him do a rebuild. He owes us a fair amount of money and since he is a diesel mechanic by trade my wife and I thought this would be good way to recoup some of our money.

Well after about a year of him sitting on the job because he didn't have the money to get the machine work done or buy the parts we decided to retrieve the motor and have me do the job. So......I now have a bunch of freshly machined and cleaned parts along with everything I need (I hope!) to start putting it back together.

For various reasons I have all the manuals I need :lol: to perform the rebuild so now its just a matter of me finding the time to actually do the work.

I'm sure I will have a LOT of questions for those of you who have performed this task already :wink:

Thanks in advance!

Brad

carolina crawler
430 crawler
430 crawler

Post by carolina crawler » Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:29 am

What was wrong with your engine, locked up, worn out, and what machine work was done? like cylinder head recondition or rebore/resleeve cylinders....and must you replace the head bolts on the engine, before reassembly. I am planning to resleeve my 2-53,think everything is ok,just low compression. long live the 2 stroke.......Mark ..CC

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:01 am

Brad,