MC wont move

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Denis in MI
40C crawler
40C crawler

MC wont move

Post by Denis in MI » Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:41 pm

This is my first time posting here. I have a problem with my MC that has been parked for about a year. When I put it in gear and release the foot clutch the right track starts to move but stops and the left is frozen to the ground and dosent even try to move. I can release the foot clutch all the way and the engine only luggs it will not stall even though it cannot move. Pulling the left steer lever has no effect what so ever and pulling the right only removes the load from the engine. Every thing operated fine when I parked it. I am really not familiar with john deere crawlers I am assuming that it does not use a differential like my cletrac. Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated as I need this tractor for cutting fire wood. It was parked outside like it has been for the last three year and never had a problem until now. also the brake pedal was froze in place but it is probably unrelated. and the temp was about 15 above 0. Thanks again, Denis

CELSESSER
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by CELSESSER » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:59 am

Dennis,
It sounds like #1 your main engine clutch is worn or out of adjustment and is slipping. #2 your left steering clutch may have stripped the "teeth" off the fiber disks(possibly from the track being frozen to the ground trying to free it) or have oil on them from leaking seals or are worn out and #3 your right steering clutch is slipping due to wear or missadjustment.
I always park mine on planks to keep it from freezing to the ground.

No diff in these, all differentiation is by the steering clutches. Sounds like you will have to get into the left clutch. Check adjustment first but I fear the fiber disks are damaged, oil soaked or worn out.

Chuck
1960 440ICD #461094 w/ #63 manual blade Converted to a gas engine two owners ago.

Denis in MI