Hyd fluid or motor oil????

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler

Hyd oil or Motor oil for the Hyd system?

Poll ended at Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:17 pm

motor oil
7%
hyd fluid
93%

Total votes: 15

bingles
430 crawler
430 crawler

Hyd fluid or motor oil????

Post by bingles » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:17 pm

Hello I have a JD1010C Loader ripper crawler.

I am a Millwright by trade, mostly sawmill machine installs, rebuilding, and preventive Maintenance. At my plant they use 30W motor oil instead of hyd fluid. I was just wanting your guys thoughts on this.

Personally I am running Hyd fluid... But I am thinking about going to motor oil. Input would be great.

Thanks a bunch and drop them blades and move some dirt!!! :)
Brian Ingles "millwrightbrian"
Placerville, Ca

John Deere 1010C
Last edited by bingles on Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:22 am, edited 2 times in total.
JD1010C My first John Deere

Willyr
2010 crawler
2010 crawler

Post by Willyr » Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:16 am

Motor oil acids will make the hydraulic seals swell under pressure. I have tried in the past on other items, it was not a pretty sight.

My New Holland tractor used what appeared to be 30 wt oil, yet it was hydraulic / rear end oil.

My Daddy always told me, there is a price for everything, even free has a price you pay for eventually.
former owner of a 1956 420c
All help is greatly appreciated.

Proud owner of a project 1952 JD 60

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFehqXVd9z4

bingles
430 crawler
430 crawler

Post by bingles » Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:38 am

in the sawmill we used hyd fluid, in the cat shop they used 30wt motor oil . I rebuilt all the cylinders and valves on site and never saw a difference the seals when cyl was rebuilt.ofcourse all our seal were poly seals. I hve not yet rebuilt one of my new JD1010 cyl so I have no clue on what the seal types it has. There was some advantages why they did this, might have been for cold weather. I will have to ask tomorrow.