new to me mc crawler

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
monzanick
430 crawler
430 crawler

new to me mc crawler

Post by monzanick » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:12 pm

So my crawler is 150 miles away under some tarps. its been there for 10 years. I went up there, unearthed it an tried to start it.

so my questions are : what direction does the engine turn over? I thought these were pos ground but the cables fit the other way... i hooked it up pos ground an it spins over o/k but no spark... i've isolated that to a bad coil which i'll install on my next trip up.

Are there any wiring diagrams out there?

if you change over to 12v ya gotta go wit neg ground right? won't the starter spin the wrong way?

I fix cars for a living but this is throwing me a bit.

Thanks all!

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:56 pm

Starter spins the same way regardless of polarity or voltage, so don't worry about that. Check your points, that would be my first guess.
Lavoy
Parts and restoration for antique and late model John Deere crawlers.
Owner and moderator www.jdcrawlers.com

LarryD
420 crawler
420 crawler

Post by LarryD » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:12 pm

The starter will spin the same direction on either voltage, and regardless of polarity of the cables. Without getting too technical......I hope..... the only way to make one spin backwards would be to change the polarity of the field windings internally in relation to the armature. But anyway the short answer is that it isn't spinning backwards. I also agree with Lavoy, most likely culprit causing no spark is points.....second would be condenser. Hope this helps.

Larry

shinnery
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by shinnery » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:44 pm