Just Bought A 420 Dozer

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
mccann316
420 crawler
420 crawler

Just Bought A 420 Dozer

Post by mccann316 » Fri May 19, 2006 8:10 am

I just bought a 420 dozer online. I haven't got it yet but it is supposedly in really good shape and has new sprockets, tracks, idlers, etc. It also has a winch and canopy and the outside blade. I paid $3700 for it is that a decent deal? I am new to crawlers I want to check it over before I use it. Besides the obvious engine, transmission, coolant and visual inspection what else should I check. Any help is appreciated. I will try to post some pics in the other forum after I get it. The only thing is I wish it had the 6 way inner mount blade on it like the 1010's I looked at. Are the blades interchangeable. Also, I know where there is a complete dead 440 sitting in a field a few miles from my house. Is it worth inquiring about, how many parts interchange with a 420? What is it worth for parts?Thanks.

DiggerLarry
440 crawler
440 crawler

Post by DiggerLarry » Fri May 19, 2006 2:27 pm

If it's in good shape, that's fair price. A working winch is a high price option and if the UC is as good as you have been told, I think you did OK.