1010 steering clutch replacement

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Timberwolf13
420 crawler
420 crawler

1010 steering clutch replacement

Post by Timberwolf13 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:14 pm

Hello crawler fans. I am new to the world of crawlers and am in need of some info. I worked as a diesel tech in a KW dealership for years so I have some mechanical experience on heavy equip. Unfortunately, nearly all of that experience was on wheeled machines, not tracked. But to the point....
I am considering buying an old 1010 crawler but it needs the steering clutches replaced. I've been pricing the kits and it's looking like it's gonna be around $650-700 for that. My question is, what is the difficulty level of this job? In other words, can I tackle this myself without much problem or am I gonna have to take it to a repair shop? Like i said before, I have a lot of mech exp but not on tracks etc. I'm just trying to figure out if the price asked for the machine is low enough to get it back to work without screwing myself over in the process. Thanks for your time. Any help is greatly appreciated
Got wood??

JimAnderson
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Steering clutchs

Post by JimAnderson » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:06 pm

Welcome to the world of crawlers.If you have experience with heavy
mechanical things then a1010 crawler should be doable.The tracks
need to be removed so the first task will be to split the tracks.Release
the tension on the track adjusters,then remove the snap ring on the master pin,drive out the pin.Next remove the sprocket.The next item is
to remove final drive which is in 250 pound range.Remove the steering clutch assembly and renew the worn parts.This sounds simple until you
find that the track adjuster is frozen and some idiot welded the master
pin to the rail.The biggest problem with these old crawlers isn't