Newbie with a MC crawler undergoing "Rustoration"

Show us pictures of your JD crawler and attachments.
PossumFarms
40C crawler
40C crawler

Newbie with a MC crawler undergoing "Rustoration"

Post by PossumFarms » Tue Oct 27, 2020 9:11 am

Howdy folks! I am a newbie to the forums and have a 1951 MC crawler that I am working on. I found this site and am looking forward to using it, since I have already found some VERY useful information here!

I've been a shade-tree mechanic most of my life and grew up on a farm. So this aint my first rodeo working on tractors! But I will admit I have never worked on anything with tracks! So this is kind of new to me...

Along with fixing a lot of little issues I have some major issues I am about to tackle - like steering clutches and brakes. I am NOT looking forward to breaking tracks for the first time in my life and diving off into an unfamiliar final drive and clutch/brake disassembly... One side is just fine, the left side is definitely not working like it should. Call me chicken - but this kind of scares me! LOL

I have a YouTube channel and have been documenting my MC Crawler adventures - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... 7hIadGrk2V

Many thanks to you guys who have posted info in the past - I find this place a treasure trove of information!

Bill
Possum Farms on YouTube

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Newbie with a MC crawler undergoing "Rustoration"

Post by Lavoy » Tue Oct 27, 2020 1:07 pm

Steering clutches are not as bad as you might think. I normally stock all of the steering clutch components, and can walk you through the process if you have any questions.
Welcome to the board, and the disease of old crawlers.
Lavoy
Parts and restoration for antique and late model John Deere crawlers.
Owner and moderator www.jdcrawlers.com

PossumFarms
40C crawler
40C crawler

Post by PossumFarms » Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:06 pm

Lavoy wrote:
Tue Oct 27, 2020 1:07 pm
Steering clutches are not as bad as you might think.