JD 450 troubleshooting and general ?

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
GHOSTSS
MC crawler
MC crawler

JD 450 troubleshooting and general ?

Post by GHOSTSS » Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:36 pm

First time crawler owner here. Just bought a 450 loader/backhoe with 4 in 1 bucket. Amazing critter I must say.

I went in debating the Deere or Case and determined the Deere was a stronger, heavier, more reliable machine but requires more maintenance and is harder to work on. I've owned a 70's Deere backhoe in the past and a late 60's Case backhoe as well. I found the same to be true about them and usually fell back on the Deere when I needed quality of work. That influenced this decision more than anything probably. I tell you this so you know I didn't come in blind. I am a shade tree mechanic and not much scares me once I get in it, except transmissions and that is only because I have no experience with them.

I am in the process of adjusting the clutches and brakes on my 450. I can't do the factory method because the brake pedal linkage is frozen up currently. I will get in at some point and break it loose but until then I plan on adjusting them by feel. I have a pretty good understanding of how they work and just have a couple of fine tuning questions. Since I haven't actually been inside her yet I was hoping some of you with real world knowledge can help me figure out why it's doing certain things.

First, it turns beautifully in reverse. Clutches disengage and she spins like a top. When going forward I have to pull hard to the left but right side is perfect so we will focus on the left.