Battery cables overheating

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
Warrior0677
40C crawler
40C crawler

Battery cables overheating

Post by Warrior0677 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:27 pm

This is my first time posting here, so be kind. LOL. I have a late model 450C (1976). I recently changed all fluids and filters. I was operating it and it just died, like someone hit the kill switch. I had only used it about 10 to 15 hours after performing the previously mentioned maintenance items. Upon trying to restart, I noticed the battery terminals smoking (which would indicate a dead ground somewhere. They were overheating within a few seconds. Since this happened, I have performed the following:

Cleaned all main power connections to include the negative terminal
Rebuilt the starter (had it tested)
Rebuilt the injector pump (was installed properly)
Checked every wire for any kind of break.

Afterwards, I did get it to run for about an hour. Took it into the tree line (clear cutting), shut it down. Come back to it and it wouldn't start. Same problem. Battery cables overheating within a few seconds. At this point, I found a fray in the positive wire the goes to the injector pump (I missed it on the first inspection of the wiring). My guess it that this is what shut the machine down the first time (and the second). After reinstalling the injector pump, I must have moved the frayed part off of the body which is what allowed the machine to start. During the move from it's location to the tree line, it must have rested back against the body which is why it wouldn't start the second time. I fixed that wire, but the battery cables are still overheating quickly and the machine will not start. Since then, I have performed the following:

Replaced main wiring harness and voltage regulator
Replaced master power switch (it was broken)
Switched alternator, grounding cable, main power cable, battery and key switch with my 350C (all same parts)