JD 350C TRANNY QUESTION

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
Pbrogdo
MC crawler
MC crawler

JD 350C TRANNY QUESTION

Post by Pbrogdo » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:48 pm

Hello all,
I am working on an old 350C dozer that had an issue with the tranny. The under carriage is pretty much worn out however was still running and performing. It was being used to pick rocks out of the ground for a final grade when all of a sudden it POPPED and quit motivating in either direction. Whenever the clutch is released it makes a whirring noise similar to what sounds like two broken ends of a shaft spinning against each other. I am assuming either the input shaft or the output shaft broke but I'm not sure. I have also been told it could be a coupler. I have been a mechanic for almost 40 years but none of those were on heavy equipment so I am at a loss here. I pulled the rear tank/seat as an assembly and am prepared to pull the engine but I read somewhere that to get the tranny out I have to go at it from the rear. I've also read from others that they pulled the engine and got at it from that direction. When I removed the rear assembly I noticed that the "bell housing" had a gap between itself and the tranny. I found NUMEROUS broken/missing bolts which have allowed the tractor to open up which in my mind caused the shaft to "flex" under operation which would also seem to greatly increase the chance for breaking a shaft. The tracks and slides are literally worn almost in half so I can only imagine how difficult it will be to separate the tracks not to mention I don't have ANY track tools to pull a pin with. I have been postponing this work for a year now but the time has come that it has to be done.
I am wide open for suggestions and will read every comment. I'm also working without a manual due to them costing $150. So far it seems pretty straight forward and I really haven't run into anything that I haven't been able to figure out other than which end to start at.