Re: 450c frame and purchase questions. Brought it home

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
slabguy
420 crawler
420 crawler

Post by slabguy » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:50 pm

I’ve been lurking for a little while but I’m very new to late model jd crawlers so forgive me for my ignorance. I’m going to look at a 76 450c on Wednesday and had a few questions. In my hunt I haven’t seen many 450s with the blade frame that attaches to the tracks in this manner. Is that just on certain years or is there some significance In this type frame? Is there anything in particular I should look at on this specific model besides the usual items that apply to most dozers before purchase? Supposedly it runs good and has plenty of life left in the undercarriage. Winch functionality is questionable at this point. Thanks in advance. https://imgur.com/a/hqSx8ul
Last edited by slabguy on Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

slabguy
420 crawler
420 crawler

Re: 450c frame question

Post by slabguy » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:53 pm

B Town
350 crawler
350 crawler

Re: 450c frame and purchase questions

Post by B Town » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:10 pm

Welcome to the board.

Nice looking 450. The outside mount hydraulic tilt blade is a 6415, I believe. Typically the outside mount blades are stronger than the inside mount blades. The chains look nice and have plenty of hours of service left. Single bar grousers look really good, also. Make sure the H-L-R transmission works.

Best regards,
Bruce

slabguy
420 crawler
420 crawler

Post by slabguy » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:30 pm

Thanks Bruce. Another question is would not having a 6 way blade be a deal breaker for you guys? The straight blade machines I’ve seen are more in my price range. I’ll mainly be using it to clear/maintain old logging trails, push in a driveway through an existing ag field, build house and shop pads, do some clearing of small pines and saplings, and just general grading around the farm.

B Town
350 crawler