1975 350 Dozer leak

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
C.miller
MC crawler
MC crawler

1975 350 Dozer leak

Post by C.miller » Thu Jul 07, 2022 8:58 am

So I'm new to the dozer realm. I just bought a 75 straight 350 dozer. I'm currently learning about all the reverser problems that come with it. My problem is after running for 10-15 mins it starts leaking hydraulic oil out of a pin hole on bottom of the bellhouse. From what I've read there should be a pin in that hole also but there is not. I've heard that there may be a seal on the reverser that could be causing this leak? It didn't leak right away when started but was after I cycled the 6 way blade through all its range of motion. Again I just purchased it and runs great but just noticed this leak yesterday. I have checked both dipsticks on the floor and both read full. This tells me in my mind either the leak just started, the pervious owner new about it and refilled all the fluids before I purchased, or the leak is hydraulic fluid from running the blade?
Thanks for any help.

Jim B
350 crawler
350 crawler

Re: 1975 350 Dozer leak

Post by Jim B » Thu Jul 07, 2022 2:36 pm

The weep hole originally would have had a loose-fitting cotter pin in it. The pin was loose so it could giggle around and keep the hole open. If there is oil coming out that hole it is either engine oil or oil from the reverser. Reverser oil is separate from the hydraulic oil. Engine oil is generally darker colored, and the reverser oil should look about like new oil, if it is clean.

C.miller
MC crawler
MC crawler

Post by C.miller » Thu Jul 07, 2022 2:39 pm

Definitely not engine oil. Its clean and not dark. Would that mean seals on the reverser are bad? Any idea if I should not run it till fixed.

Thanks again.

LeonardL
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by LeonardL » Fri Jul 08, 2022 7:34 am