Newer JD crawlers and 'electronics' and other 'gotchas'

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
Stan Disbrow
350 crawler
350 crawler

Newer JD crawlers and 'electronics' and other 'gotchas'

Post by Stan Disbrow » Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:54 pm

Hi,

How far along in the JD450 line can one go before the machines have electronics incorporated into them?

I really don't see that I need any form of electronic control systems in a bulldozer. I can get by with fully mechanical systems, thank you.

Even though I'm an electrical engineer by trade, and have designed some really interesting control systems in my time, I really don't want to add the complexity of such stuff on any of my equipment. Especially, since most of these things are there to prevent operators from being too stupid. I can prevent being too stupid with the Mark-I brain I come with! :P

I ask because I saw a JD450G, looking to be in decent enough shape, but I see what appears to be an electronic panel on the dashboard in the photos. That has me thinking 'uh oh'.

I bet they aren't made from bog-standard bits that one can grab from Digi-Key to fix if they've gone haywire. Well, actually, I bet they *are* made from standard parts, just that the OEMs pay a few cents more to have the parts makers' ID removed and their own added.

I just ran into that with a Philips plasma display that decided to have start-up issues about a year out of warranty. Philips has no service information, wanting one to fork over $1200 for a power control board. New sets are less than that, of course. However, I lucked out. Someone dumped the factory design data all over the internet, and so I was able to cross those Philips marked parts to standard ones and fix the fool thing - for $20 bucks worth of parts from Digi-Key, including shipping. :)

I doubt I'd get so lucky with an electronic control board from Deere. :P

Anyway, how far along can one go before electronics show up? JD450D, perhaps?