my 350 (gas) just stopped... help

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
ChrisMis
40C crawler
40C crawler

my 350 (gas) just stopped... help

Post by ChrisMis » Sat Nov 22, 2008 11:40 am

I have a 65' JD 350 (gas) crawler. It has been great. I was just splitting wood off it at a slow idle and it sounded like something snapped in the engine. It coughed and pushed some smoke out. It also sounded like some loose change was in there (yikes). I shut it off as quick as possible, probably within 10-15 seconds). When I took a look, everything from the outside looked alright. I took a chance and turned it over again to check if I was getting a spark; I am with no loose change sound.
I am really new at figuring this stuff out but I'd love to. This site has helped amazingly in the past... can anybody help this time? I'd certainly appreciate it.

mini kahuna
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by mini kahuna » Sat Nov 22, 2008 3:17 pm

sounds like you may have broke the drive disc attached to the flywheel,they are a weak spot on the 350 and they let go without warning.
it falls apart inside the bell housing and jams the engine.
you would have to pull the engine to see if this is what happen. :(

ChrisMis
40C crawler
40C crawler

Post by ChrisMis » Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:58 pm

Thanks for the info eventhough it doesn't sound good. Pulling the engine would be tough to do myself.

You say that it would jam the engine yet it turns over okay. Am I just lucky that it isn't jammed or could it be something else?

jdemaris

Post by jdemaris » Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:32 am

ChrisMis wrote:Thanks for the info eventhough it doesn't sound good. Pulling the engine would be tough to do myself.

You say that it would jam the engine yet it turns over okay. Am I just lucky that it isn't jammed or could it be something else?
Early 350s - with reverser, or without - use a standard spring-loaded clutch disk bolted to the flywheel. So, when they break - the engine does NOT lock up.