450c Stanadyne Injector Pump Seal and Bearing Replacement

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
Flatheadyoungin
420 crawler
420 crawler

450c Stanadyne Injector Pump Seal and Bearing Replacement

Post by Flatheadyoungin » Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:28 pm

I have a 450C that has been pumping fuel in to the crankcase. Long story short, I replaced the fuel transfer pump and that didn't fix it. So, after a lot of internet surfing, finding this site again, joining this site and finding jdemarris' posts, I went and pulled my injector pump. I've never worked on diesels before but I pretty much fix everything else myself. All my life it has seemed the injector pump is a mystical thing that most don't understand. I don't and probably won't even after this but I do think it can get the ole' girl back to shoving dirt.

Anyway, after removing the pump, the little umbrella seals did seem a bit old and after closer inspection, there was a pc. of seal down in the pump. I'll have to get it out of there. To remove the pump, I just followed what I read on here. Good stuff.