Bolt Grades

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
BOBWOOD
420 crawler
420 crawler

Bolt Grades

Post by BOBWOOD » Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:23 pm

I am just replacing my track rollers and was wondering if it is OK to use grade 8 bolts in them and the rock guards? I have already purchased them...but a guy at work told be to use grade 5 as the others are too brittle and will break....Also, to confuse things I was just reading a posting on another site and everyone advised the guy to use grade 8...BOB

digitup2
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by digitup2 » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:54 pm

I find that grade 5 will loosen off so we use grade 8 on roller flanges and rock guards they tend to stay tight longest .Digitup,

BOBWOOD
420 crawler
420 crawler

Post by BOBWOOD » Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:00 pm

OK...thanks for the advice...I'll go with what I've got then....I'm not too experienced at mechanical stuff...usually just bring the broken stuff to my brother and father who are both mechanics...I will have to be sure not to assume things...like a grade 8 being better than a grade 5....sounds good but it is not necessarily true in all circumstances....BOB

Tigerhaze
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Tigerhaze » Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:14 pm

I would put a lot of weight on Digitup's advice- he puts thousands of hours on these machines commerically.
(1) JD Straight 450 crawler dozer with manual outside blade; (2) JD 2010 diesel crawler loaders; (1) JD 2010 diesel dozer with hydraulic 6-way blade; (2) Model 50 backhoe attachments, misc. other construction equipment

mini kahuna
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by mini kahuna » Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:10 pm

use grade 8,5 with not hold up to the abuse.
I like to use theadlocker as well,use stuff that is removable with tools.

JWB Contracting
2010 crawler
2010 crawler

Extreme Use

Post by JWB Contracting » Tue Jul 05, 2011 9:15 pm