350 Steering Shaft

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
GlennP
40C crawler
40C crawler

350 Steering Shaft

Post by GlennP » Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:33 am

This past summer I rebuilt the final drives and steering clutches on my 350B. Since putting it back together the left side the steering shaft will not rotate to slide the throughout bearing onto the pressure plate. Has anyone run into this problem? Any ideas? Thanks.
1970 350B Crawler Loader

andregrondin
440 crawler
440 crawler

Post by andregrondin » Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:37 am

Hi !

I'm no expert at all but the shaft ( on a 350 straight) is put into the final drive
then the final drive onto the steering clutch , then the whole assembly into
the steering & brake housing , then the spline should slip in .

hopefully this will help .
Dig in boy !!
J-D 350 straight 1966
model # = T4F3D
serial # = 08883T

J-D 690-B 1980
model # = D690B
serial # = 007364T

Mack RB688S 1990 dumper

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:28 am

Drive shaft should have no function as far as the throwout bearing. Are you referring to the throwout tube?
Lavoy

LeonardL
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by LeonardL » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:44 am

Glenn,