JD 450B track problems

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
bamaboy2006
40C crawler
40C crawler

JD 450B track problems

Post by bamaboy2006 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:12 pm

Hello

I am new to crawler world and was just wanting to get some ideas from more experienced owners.

I just bought a 1975 JD 450BA Loader. It came with the bucket and dozier blade. When I purchased the machine the previous owner said the right side undercarriage had just been replaced but the left side was around 30%. I slipped the track off a few months ago and had a time getting it back on.

The track adjuster would not move forward or backwards so I am guessing that it is frozen. I was using the machine this weekend and the track came off again but this time I was in a very bad spot and ended up knocking th track completly off. I managed to get the machine on level ground and was wondering what the best way would be to repair this. I have read that these machines do not have a master link and the only way to get the track apart is to drive a pin out.

I am guessing that I need to remove the adjuster and really have no idea were to start. Any help would be appreciated.

Also the left steering doesn't work unless you are backing up a hill. Any idea on how to adjust this or do I need to replace something

Thanks for any help

Tigerhaze
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Tigerhaze » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:37 pm

First of all, welcome to the board. it is a great help to be able to discuss with all of these knowledgable folks on here.