Hello and I have an engine issue JD450

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
ferroequinologist
420 crawler
420 crawler

Hello and I have an engine issue JD450

Post by ferroequinologist » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:35 am

Hello everyone. I've been lurking over the site for a few days trying to find info on a JD450 crawler loader I just bought. I have been able to figure out it is a 'gray market' 450. I don't know the year though. It has a serial of E7450 003884T. Owner said he hasn't had it running he bought it but then health issues caused him to leave it be. It has moisture in the oil. Not sure if it is a liner or head gasket at this point. There is no oil in the coolant. It will crank just fine and fires on ether, but I don't like to use it so that's as far as I have gotten.

The bucket is worn out pretty bad. The track pads look good, the rear sprokets are starting to have points though.

The throttle cable is off of the injection pump. I was a diesel mechanic in the Navy but this pump has me confused. I will get a better picture but it has a rod coming out from the bottom, with a lever attached, then at the top it appears to be where the cable attaches. But I see no actuation on the pump except that lever moving back and forth on the rod, I can't figure out for the life of me how that is supposed to control the IP, unless there is some kind of cam and pushrod inside the lower rod.

So I need to trouble shoot the engine some more, and would really like to learn more about it. The engine plate says M53TE 081613T.

I only paid $1500 so I think I got a pretty good deal, even if the engine needs rebuild. What do you guys think?

I will add pictures If I can figure out how to add them.[/img]
Last edited by ferroequinologist on Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ferroequinologist
420 crawler
420 crawler

Post by ferroequinologist » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:06 am

Let me test the pic

crawler1 by Steamman5320, on Flickr[/url]