555 new owner

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
james_eversole
MC crawler
MC crawler

555 new owner

Post by james_eversole » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:57 pm

Hello guys. Newbie here, just picked up a 555 at an incredible price. Great looking machine, and from everything I have read here, several of you think it is a GREAT machine. Short story on how I came to be the proud new owner of a 555. Saw a listing on craigslist, for a case backhoe, in a basket, great price, and I always thought I was pretty handy. Long story short, this lovely lady's Daddy had passed away right in the middle of a tranny rebuild. No one in her family had ever worked on, or with heavy equipment. We met, struck the deal on the backhoe. And I had plenty of time to work on it where it set...until the property sold. Time got short I got it slid back together and buckled up enough to move.Found a guy with the trailer and skill to move it. AND, here is where the 555 comes in. It was siting there beside the Case hoe. I ask how much, way toooo much for me. But no one can get it started. Her husband, great guy, a firefighter, but not a heavy guy tried, but... They changed the starter, battery, and still no start. Just a thunk. Now I ask how much, and Yippee, I own a 555 sitting on top of a mountain that won't start. I am taking a NEW 1000cca battery up tomorrow. Along with a can of HEET, and tools enough to try and see if she is frozen. Everyone swears she ran fine when Daddy park her 9 months ago. I am ordering the service manuals PDF from online, and am sure I will get her figured out...but that time I was talking about being short? I have til the 8th of this month and it has not stopped raining here for the last 5 days.LOL So any help, any tricks,at all will be most welcome. Thanks in advance. I have read almost every post on this site related to "no starts" from 350s on up, and will go much more prepared than I could have ever thought possible. But there was not a single po