Clutch slip?

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
speedbear
420 crawler
420 crawler

Clutch slip?

Post by speedbear » Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:50 pm

I am brand new to the crawler world. I just purchased a 350b loader. while playing around, moving dirt, I noticed what semed like the clutch slipping. Engine running, machine/tracks not moving. To test my theory, I tried 4th gear. The machine didn't move at all, as if no power to transmission. Could this be a clutch adjustment? Or is there another problem to look for.

Tigerhaze
350 crawler
350 crawler

Post by Tigerhaze » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:41 am

Welcome to the board Speedbear-

You will probably need to do a little more troubleshooting for others on here to help diagnose your issue.

Your machine has several "clutches" between the engine and the final drives at the track sprockets. I believe you have a clutch and torsoinal isolator between the engine flywheel and directional reverser, clutch packs within the reverser itself, and a steering clutch between the reverser and each final drive. However you could also have broken shafts, bearings, or other issues between the engine and final drives as well that could keep the track sprockets from turning.

My recommendation would be to open the inspection plates at the top of each steering clutch housing and see if the drive pinion is turning on each side when in gear- if it is then your issue is not forward of that location (from engine to reverser) but rather with the mechanical steering clutch or final drive for that side. if both sides are "dead' then you have narrowed the issue to forward of the steering clutches.

EDIT: This will be a helpful thread for you to read:

http://www.jdcrawlers.com/messageboard/ ... sc&start=0
(1) JD Straight 450 crawler dozer with manual outside blade; (2) JD 2010 diesel crawler loaders; (1) JD 2010 diesel dozer with hydraulic 6-way blade; (2) Model 50 backhoe attachments, misc. other construction equipment