Newbie Attaching backhoe to 450C crawler

Post support questions about your JD350 and newer crawler here
Donnie_Ray
40C crawler
40C crawler

Newbie Attaching backhoe to 450C crawler

Post by Donnie_Ray » Tue May 11, 2010 11:31 am

Hi everyone,

I just recently purchased a 1975 450C crawler and I'm a total newbie around any kind of mechanical equipment. I probably have no business having one of these machines but I thought it would be great fun working on my wood lot roads and possibly preparing a site for a house.
I got a 930 backhoe along with the crawler and I am trying to figure out how to connect the hydraulics. I bought the service manual but that doesn't seem to help at all. It mentions a selector valve for diverting the hydraulic flow from the front of the machine to the rear but I can not find any such valve. Did these machines not come with a selector valve or if they did where would I find it? Any information/advice would be most appreciated.
Thanks for your help,
Don

JWB Contracting
2010 crawler
2010 crawler

450 dozer backhoe attachment

Post by JWB Contracting » Tue May 11, 2010 7:52 pm

The book is correct in that you need a diverter valve to power the backhoe. It diverts the hydraulic flow from the dozer functions to the backhoe. If your crawler has one it would be under the right hand lid beside the operators seat. If you don't see one, then you have a couple options:

1. Buy the diverter valve and install. I personally do not like these as you have to switch the valve to operate the backhoe vs. the dozer. Tough to puch the crawler ahead with the hoe when you need to pick up the dozer (i put the dozer down to keep the machine from rolling when digging)