Reverser pops out.

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
swmnCrawler
MC crawler
MC crawler

Reverser pops out.

Post by swmnCrawler » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:59 pm

Well my dad purchased a 420 crawler, 4 roller with a reverser, pto and blade on the front. This will be our first restoration project but that is not to say im a shy mechanic as I've being maintaining and fixing farm equipment since i was just a kid.

After a little bit of work the crawler is running, however far from good, among things still need to be worked on is the steering clutch/brake (only turns to the right) and the reverser.

With the reverser in the forward position i can't drive the thing 5 feet without it popping out into neutral. If i keep a bit of pressure forward on the reverser lever then i can drive it fine (well as fine as you can only turning left and hunched over pushing the reverser lever.) It seems to work better in reverse but i haven't used it extensively.

It's ready to get torn apart to get at the steering clutches, so what might be the problem to look for with the reverser?
The grandson of one of the greats.

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:28 pm

My best guess is you need a reverser rebuild, could be bad bearings. Detent ball could also be missing, I have had two like that.
Lavoy

CELSESSER
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by CELSESSER » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:33 pm

swmnchrawler,
First, welcome to the board.

Causes of what you are describing on the reverser depends on how old your 420 is. Prior to serial number 131309 they had a gear driven reverser and after that serial number they had the clutch type reverser.