MC Low / No oil pressure

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
Big Bad John
40C crawler
40C crawler

MC Low / No oil pressure

Post by Big Bad John » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:19 am

Just purchased a 1952 MC that someone had started restoring. Supposedly the engine was gone through but Nephew to that person did not know how complete the overhaul was. Problem started when Nephew brought the Crawler home and started using it. He said he heard it "chirp" and shut it down. Long story short...he tried it again and kept an eye on the oil pressure gauge with little or no pressure evident. This time pan was pulled and rod bearing damage noted. He lost interest in the project and I purchased and brought it home yesterday.
I am no stranger to engine assembly being that I've drag raced for the last 30 years...but I'm new to tractors. My question is...is this a common issue with the MC's? Anything in particular that I'm looking for... such as bad oil pump, galley plug missing or the obvious (to me) ground crankshaft with standard bearings. I suspect this is going to be a "bone head" mistake by previous assembler :shock: . Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks...BBJ
1952 John Deere MC, 1960 John Deere 4010 turbo'd diesel

DukeofDeere
1010 crawler
1010 crawler

Post by DukeofDeere » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:18 am

My suggestion is to open it up and go though it stem to stern.
It will be evident what went wrong.

Duke

Lavoy
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Lavoy » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:23 am

I second the rebuild sentiment, no real known problems as far as oil pressure on these engines.
I stock some of the engine parts, but all are readily available. Check your bore, you will likely find it is quite tapered. Have the head magnafluxed, they are prone to cracking.
Lavoy
Parts and restoration for antique and late model John Deere crawlers.
Owner and moderator www.jdcrawlers.com

monzanick
430 crawler
430 crawler

mc low oil pressure