440IC purchase

General help and support for your Lindeman through 2010 John Deere crawler
plowboy
40C crawler
40C crawler

440IC purchase

Post by plowboy » Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:07 pm

Im a newbie who just hauled home and started tearing down a crawler. As I know it has the gas engine, 5speed trans, and reverser. It's equipped with the model 91 loader and 6ft blade but also getting the 5.5ft dirt bucket. The issue is I can't find the serial tag on the tractor. The loader tag is on the rear of the RH loader post. I currently have the loader all pulled off and planning getting the machine functional and get everything back to working order. As the story goes it was in shed since granpa died years ago. Last sprig we got it out to make a food plot and it wouldn't steer one direction so we shut it down. An it sat outside for a couple yrs. I took a CAT 950B loader with forks from work and picked it up from the back and set it into my 1971 M35A2 and hauled it 15 miles home. I pushed in into shop with skid
Steer, checked fluids put a battery on track and hooked up cables and she cranked over but wouldn't fire. But I was more than happy with that. Im a heavy equipment mechanic an operator born and raised on dairy farm. I was told this rig was going to scrap this spring and I told them I can't let ulyou do that. So I am now the proud owner.

plowboy
40C crawler
40C crawler

Post by plowboy » Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:14 am